CD, Album, Folk Music,

Out of stock

SKU: PRKCD64 Category: Tags: , , , , ,


Present high Quality

A triumphant return from one of the most influential names in British roots music. After breaking box office records in a sold out UK tour in December 2002 Steeleye Span returned with an album that confirmed their status as legends of folk-rock.

Maddy Prior, the voice of Steeleye for 28 years, returns to the helm; Bob Johnson, whose epic ballads and power guitar have been at the core  of the Steeleye sound; Peter Knight, Steeleye stalwart and fiddler extraordinaire;  Rick Kemp, the solid foundation on bass, and Liam Genockey on the drum stool.

Present is an album where Steeleye revisit their greatest moments. With 33 years at the forefront of British folk-rock, there’s no shortage of classics to choose from, and the selection  chosen by the people who know best – the fans through an online poll.

While Steeleye’s two mainstream hit singles are inevitably present, (the folk-pop of All Around my Hat, and the sublime acapella Christmas hit Gaudete), the album serves as a reminder of the range and influence of their music, from the epic folk-rock of tracks such as Thomas The Rhymer and King Henry to the intensity of Lyke Wake Dirge, a live favourite previously unrecorded by the band.


1. Thomas The Rhymer
2. Misty Moisty Morning
3. Hard Times Of Old England
4. All Around My Hat
5. King Henry
6. Sir James The Rose
7. John Barleycorn
8. Let Her Go Down
9. Long Lankin
10. Cam Ye O’er
11. Weaver
12. Drink Down The Moon
13. Black Jack Davy
14. Two Magicians
15. Blackleg Miner
16. When I Was On Horseback
17. Gaudete
18. Rosebud In June
19. Lyke Wake Dirge