4 in stock

SKU: PRKCD66 Category:


Maddy Prior: Lionhearts CD

Over a remarkable career spanning over 3 decades, Maddy Prior MBE has become widely recognised as the voice of English folk music.

An unsurpassed interpreter of traditional song, Maddy is also a songwriter of great vision, whose solo work has stretched the boundaries in the form of extended song cycles that combine her favourite themes of history, mythology and tradition.

Here, Maddy turns her attention to the historical king: Richard I – Richard The Lionheart. The songs brings to life the world of the crusading 12th century King and his parents
Eleanor of Aquitane and Henry II.

On Lionhearts Maddy is joined once again by long-time collaborators Nick Holland (keyboards) and Troy Donockley (uillean pipes, guitars, cittern and whistle) who provide her inspirational voice
with a backdrop rich in colour and emotion.

Track Listing

1. Maman
2. John
3. Salah ed-Din
4. Old Lion
5. Thomas
6. War Games
7. Salisbury Plain
8. John Barleycorn
9. The Yellow Handkerchief
10. The Ship In Distress
11. Jupiter

Leave a Reply